top of page

Woaahhh, We're Half Way Thereeee!

This week was very exciting at tonlè! Besides working on several different projects and multi-tasking daily I was able to learn more about natural dying and model for and style a photo shoot for tonlè’s newest collection! I’m half way through my stay in Phnom Penh and it has already been life changing, inspiring, and so rewarding. I’m thankful beyond words for the knowledge I’ll be bringing home.

When I decided to stop attending UNT and focus on my goals of creating a clothing line I knew I wanted to make an impact, so natural dying was at the top of my list of priorities. Fabric manufactures dye massive amounts of fibers daily; wasting gallons upon gallons of water and adding hazardous chemicals into our water ways. This is what makes fast fashion so detrimental to our planet. The industry produces fabric for companies in bulk, and consumers purchase garments that have short shelf lives. We are hurting our environment for clothing that sometimes is only worn one or two times- not worth the damage! Natural dying doesn’t hurt our earth and is a suitable solution. I was anxious to learn how tonlè dyed their garments as soon as I learned about the company. Late in 2015 I experimented with naturally dying, stinking up my Denton house with vinegar, radish, and cabbage boiling on the stove. It was fun to see what colors came out but I clearly had much to learn. At the tonlè workshop dying is done outside in the warm Cambodian air. I worked along side Srey Pov, who speaks little to no English, so I simply watched and imitated her graceful actions. We would laugh at my failed attempts to do things the way she showed me, but soon enough I found my groove. We made dark grey dye from dried leaves, rusty nails, sugar, limes, onionskin, and water. She showed me how to soften limes so we could easily scoop out the fruit from the peal by rolling the limes against the cobbled ground. Applying so much pressure on my palms and softening about 40 limes the insides of my hands are slightly purple and sore days later. We cooked the dye in huge metal pots and swished the garments back and forth in the deep grey dye, then submerged them in cold water to shock the fabric and secure the dye, rung out the water from the garments (which is harder than you think when done correctly), hung the garments on the line to dry, and then started the process all over again for a new batch. We worked in silence because the language barrier but she taught me so much that day and I left work feeling so excited to get back to my dying when I return home. The way home on my Tuk Tuk it began to rain, for the first time in nearly two months I’ve been here. I smiled the whole ride home, seeing the children rejoice and stomp in puddles resulting in huge spurts of laughter.

***Limes and dried leaves being prepped for dying***

***The dye cooking***

***Srey Pov dip-dying garments***

The next morning was the tonlè shoot. I was in charge of compiling all the looks and styling the models. The shoot went quickly and smoothly, we had fun shooting all morning. For the first time in six weeks I put makeup on, and felt like a girl again. I awkwardly got in front of the camera in a dress much too large for me and will soon be on the company’s website- finally launching my modeling career I wanted when I was 16 (score)! Later in the day two workshop employees came to the studio to model the remaining looks. They couldn’t speak English and I can’t speak Khmer so we mostly smiled and laughed at each other while I styled them. It was great to see them enjoy dressing up and being silly for the camera. They thanked us for letting them model.

*** Selfie because I was wearing makeup for the first time in 6 weeks!***

***Models and Lydia the tonlè boutique manage on set***

I’m exhausted from working 50 hour weeks and only having one day to rest, which is usually spent updating my resume, researching and applying for jobs I find for when I return home. I love being busy and I’m learning so much that I don’t mind being tired one bit. I have a sense of purpose working in a place where I can use my creativity and my passion for good; I want to hold on to that feeling forever. Being in Phnom Penh, working with these amazing women, and growing my skills has released a new wave of inspiration in me. I’m excited to see where the wave leads me. Today after waking up slowly, two cups of coffee, and a two-hour long conversation with my boyfriend about our upcoming travel plans, I finally made it outside my apartment. At the market I found a denim skirt I’ve been wanting so bad, which retails for over $100, I bought it for $11! It’s been a pretty solid Sunday, and an amazing trip so far.

Love,

Kendal

My Pick:
Search By Tag:
No tags yet.
Stay In The Know:
bottom of page